Wednesday, February 23, 2011

Sweat Glands

The sweat gland contains 2 portions. There is a deep part beneath the dermis called secretes the sweat. The more superficial portion consist of a duct to reaches to the surface the the skin to secrete the sweat

There are 2 main kinds of sweat glands, the eccrine and apocrine sweat glands. The Eccrine sweat glands are found all over the body and secretes sweat to aid in cooling the body.

The apocrine sweat glands are found in the axilla and perinium region of the body. These form little function in cooling is is believed to be the more primitive type of sweat glands by some people.

No comments:

Post a Comment